Detailed Analysis on #OsunDecide2018 – PDP, APC’s Fates Inconclusive

#OsunDecides2018 - Oyetola, Adeleke & Omisore
#OsunDecides2018 - Oyetola, Adeleke & Omisore

Yesterday, Osun state witnessed a new field for 2 giant elephants in politics tussling for a seat as INEC declares election inconclusive, as #OsunDecides2018 speaks on

In a development many never anticipated, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared the Osun gubernatorial election inconclusive on #OsunDecides2018.

JUST IN: President Mohammadu Buhari & Wife in New York for UNGA73

Many had expected an outright declaration after the PDP candidate, Ademola Adeleke, polled majority votes of about 254,698 while Gboyega Oyetola of the APC came a close second with 254,345 votes, but that was not the case.

JUST IN: REGISTER NOW TO GET INSTANT N15,000 FROM TraderMoni FG Poverty Alleviation programme

#OsunDecides2018 - Oyetola, Adeleke & Omisore
CAPTION: #OsunDecides2018 – Oyetola, Adeleke & Omisore. PHOTO CRED: PunchNG

The 353 votes’ difference between the two was enough ground for the returning officer, Joseph Fuwape, to declare the election inconclusive.

“Unfortunately as the returning officer, it’s not possible to declare anybody as the clear winner of the election on the first ballot,” Mr Fuwape, vice chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Akure, said.

He explained that the total registered voters in the five polling units where elections were cancelled is 3,498 votes.

Since that figure was higher than the difference between the votes of the leading candidates, a rerun election had to be conducted, the INEC chief explained.

“I, Joseph Adeola Fuwape, hereby, declare this election inconclusive,” he said.

INEC’s election guideline made pursuant to Section 153 of the Electoral Act stipulates a rerun if the margin of victory in an election is lower than the number of voters in units where elections are cancelled.

The electoral body then went ahead to fix Thursday, September 27 as the day of the rerun election.

Back To The Drawing Board – #OsunDecides2018

A strewn of marriages and compromises will shape the Thursday Osun rerun to be held in seven polling units in four local governments of the state.

Election will be contested by the 48 political parties in Orolu Local Government, Ward 9, polling unit 001 with a total registered voters of 393, polling unit 004, same ward, with a total of 387 registered voters, and another polling unit in Ward 9 in Orolu with a total registered voters of 167.

#OsunDecides2018 - Senator Ademola Adeleke (Dancing Senator)
#OsunDecides2018 – Senator Ademola Adeleke (Dancing Senator)

In Ife North local government area, Ward 15, unit 010, with voting strength of 502 voters, the election was cancelled due to card reader problems. In Ife South, Ward 16, two polling units were affected with a voting strength of 812 and 502 respectively.

In Osogbo, one unit was affected with a voting strength of 884 registered voters. The collating officer had alleged that the presiding officer of that particular unit absconded with the results, and no further explanations came from that.




Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.